- Foods made from grains (and grain like plants) that do not contain harmful gluten including: corn in all forms (corn flour, corn meal, grits etc..) Rice in all forms (white, brown, basmati and enriched rice etc..). Also amaranth, buckwheat (kasha) Montina, millet, quinoa, tef, sorghum, soy.
- The followinig ingredients: Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch and vinegar (only malt vinegar might contain gluten). Also citric, lactic and malic acids as well as sucrose, dextrose, and lactose; and these baking products: arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthum gus, manioc (tapioca flour) potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla.
- The following food: Milk, butter, margaine, real (not processed) cheese, plain yogurt, and vegetable oils inlcuing canola. Plan fruits, vegetables (fresh, frozen, canned) meat, seafood, eggs, nuts, beans, and legumes and flours made from them
- Wheat in all forms including spelt, kamut, triticale (a combination of wheat and rye) durum, einkorn, farina, semolina, cake flour, matzo (or matzah) and couscou.
- Ingredients with "wheat" in the name including wheat starch, modified wheat starch, hydrolyzed wheat protein, and pregelatinized wheat protein. Buckwheat, which is gluten free, is an exception.
- Barley, Malt which is usually made from barley, and malt syrup, malt extract, malt flavoring and malt vinegar.
- Meat, poultry, seafood, and vegetables that are breaded, floured, served with a sauce made from wheat, or marinated in a mixture that contains gluten such as soy and teriyaki sauces.
- Licorice, imitation crab meat and nuts (if they are flavored iwth gluten-containing ingredients).
- Commercial beer, which is made from barley (Gluten-free beer is available from several companies)
- "Real" (not processed) cheese is gluten free; processed cheese (spray cheese for example) may contain gluten.
- Dextrin- which is rarely used, can be made from wheat but that would be noted on the label. Plain maltodextrin, a more common ingredient is made from corn, potatoes or rice. When wheat is used, the label will say "maltodextrin (wheat)" or "wheat maltodextrin"
- Distilled Alcoholic beverages- are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten from wheat. They are not gluten free if glute-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely if ever happens.
- Flavorings- are often gluten free, but in rare instances can contain wheat or malt. By law, wheat would have to be labeled but malt would not.
- Oats- used to be considered unsafe, but recent research has shown that a moderate amount of special pure oats is safe for most celiacs. Several companies produce oats specifically for the GF market
- Pharmaceuticals- can contain gluten, although most are gluten free. Check with the pharmaceutical company.
- Seasonings and seasoning mixes- have not been officially defined so they could contain gluten. By law, companies have to list wheat if it is found in any ingredient.
- Spices- are gluten free. If there is no ingredient list on the container, it contains only the pure spice noted on the label
- Soy sauces- is often (though not always) fermented from wheat. Read the label, front and back.
- Caramel Color- can be made from malt syrup, but there is no known instance of a caramel color produced this way. Companies in North American use corn. You can consider caramel color gluten free.
- Hydrolyzed Vegetable protein- is a phrase that cannot be used on a food label. Food processors have identify the "vegetable." So you might read "hydrolyzed wheat protein" which would not be gluten free or "hydrolyzed soy protein," which is gluten free.
- Mono and Diglycerides- are fats and therefore gluten free. There had been unverified concern that wheat might be used with them as a carrier. Now, by law, a wheat carrier would have to be on the label.